Beethoven: Sanctus, from Missa Solemnis

The Missa Solemnis has five sections, and I wanted to pick one for listening today. There is no point in trying to elevate one movement above the others in this work, which is a supreme masterpiece. So it might as well be at random that I select the transcendent Sanctus, which has lots of the best things that Beethoven can offer: a triumphant choir, dramatic passages for the vocal soloists, warm music for the ensemble of woodwinds, an angelic solo violin, and more. If you feel compelled to hear the entire work (as you might probably do), this video can oblige you.

Performed by Krassimira Stoyanova (soprano), Elīna Garanča (mezzo), Michael Schade (tenor), Franz-Josef Selig (bass), the Dresden State Opera Chorus, and Staatskapelle Dresden, conducted by Christian Thielemann (17 minutes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s