Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 7

This three-movement quartet is over in less than twelve intense and rewarding minutes. Dmitri Shostakovich wrote this piece in 1960 in memory of his first wife, Nina, who had died six years earlier. You might hear his grief in the first and third movements’ agitation, but there is also much serenity in this music. If Shostakovich meant the music to work out his feelings about the loss of his wife, it’s easy to believe that his relationship with her was rich, conflicted, and deep.

Performed by the Emerson String Quartet (12 minutes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s