J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3

All of Bach is the Netherlands Bach Society’s project to record every piece by Johann Sebastian Bach in films that show each performance. It’s a spectacularly ambitious project that should take about twenty years to complete. They’ve made a great start in the past three years. The performances are good, and the films are beautifully conceived and directed.

The Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 is scored for three trios of string instruments: three violins, three cellos, and three violas (in addition to the continuo played by harpsichord and double bass). This performance is staged and edited to help us hear each section of strings and the voice of each individual in the group of eleven. It’s delightful.

Click the image below for a link to Bach’s Third Brandenburg Concerto at the All of Bach website.

All of Bach Brandenburg 3
Performed by members of the Netherlands Bach Society, conducted by Shunske Sato (11 minutes)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s